Previous years cross tables

2017  Open  Graded

2016  Open  Graded

2015  Open  Graded

2014  Open  Graded

History of the event

The following text comes from 'Teignmouth Chess Club 1901-2016 A History' by W.A. Frost

Alan Brusey (long time Teignmouth club member and well known player on the Devon Chess circuit) has these recollections of the event: 

"The Teignmouth Rapidplay congress was started in 1982 with the two founder members being Reg Thynne and Tim Hay. The first congress was held at the Carlton Theatre on Teignmouth Seafront and was won by Christopher Hawthorne from Paignton. At the time there were no tables on the premises and these had to be borrowed and carried across town by club members. 

In 1983 the congress moved to the London Hotel in the centre of Teignmouth. The disco area of the hotel was dimly lit and club members were required to act as stewards to prevent juniors entering the hotel bar area. From this somewhat gloomy playing conditions a new star of the chess world was emerging as the joint winner of the tournament was a Cornish primary school pupil, Michael Adams. The other joint winner was John Lawrence of Paignton.


In 1984 the congress moved to the Winterbourne Community Centre and this proved to be a good venue with free car parking good lighting and plenty of tables and chairs. The tournament was won in 1984 and 1985 by Michael Adams with 6/6 on each occasion winning his games in convincing style. Michael was to go on and become one of the world's leading chess grandmasters and to this day still plays his chess at the highest level.

By far the best player to win Teignmouth rapidplay was Michael but other masters to win the event were Gary Lane, Andrew Greet, James Sherwin and an Aussie master with a surname Hill. 

After a few years at the Winterbourne centre the event moved to Bitton Park for a year. The winner was Teignmouth's own top board player Alan Brusey. The event then moved to the current venue of Trinity school where the event has spacious playing area, free car parking excellent catering and pleasant sea views. The secretary of the congress has changed from Reg Thynne to Tim Hay to John Gorodi to Ray Chubb to Norman Tidy and now to Mark Cockerton. 

The Congress gained a number of valued supporters over the years, none more so than the Walker family. In the early years of the competition Gordon and his son John were regular players. When Gordon passed away John donated a trophy in his memory. The trophy is still competed for today and the Walker family has continued to offer support over a number of years. 

Another valued supporter was John Doidge.  John was a regular player and donated a trophy for the Challengers tournament which is also still competed for.